Android users beware! Apps like WhatsApp, Facebook, Viber, YouTube, WeChat and Uber can steal your personal details such as credit card information, passwords, and other sensitive data. An Android malware is targeting the smartphone users who use these popular apps.
As per details, security experts have found a new kind of Android malware, which automatically installs on Android smartphone, once the user clicks a particular URL. After this malware is installed, it changes the programming of the apps installed on the smartphone.
This Android malware replaces the original versions of WhatsApp, Facebook, Viber, YouTube, WeChat and Uber app with the fake ones, which look completely similar to the original apps. These fake apps then send all the personal data of the users to the hackers.
For example, if this malware gets installed on a smartphone which has WhatsApp, it replaces the original app of WhatsApp with its version. The user then unknowingly enters his/her credentials into a fake WhatsApp app, which then sends his login details to the hackers.
Once the user clicks a special URL, Android Malware installs automatically
A shortened URL is surfacing over the internet. When a user clicks it, the malware installs on the smartphone. People also complained that they received the unique URL via the email or SMS message.
Presently, the link management company, BitLy has blocked the affected shortened URL. When a user visits the link that contains the malware, BitLy shows the following message:
“The link you requested has been identified by bitly as being potentially problematic. This could be because a bitly user has reported a problem, a black-list service reported a problem, because the link has been shortened more than once, or because we have detected potentially malicious content.”
However, there are a lot of other malware URLs, which have not been reported so far. Earlier, 190 Android applications were removed by Google from its Play Store after a Russian anti-malware company, Dr.Web discovered malware in these apps and reported it to the management of Google.