Here’s how you can un-send messages in Gmail

Gmail Undo Send

Life is hard and there are very little second chances in life but Gmail gives you a second chance if you messed up the contents of an all important email.

With so many distractions such as Whatsapp, Facebook, Twitter and Snapchat around us, it’s really hard to concentrate and sometimes a lack of attention towards work can lead you to type a message with errors. You often hit send and realize the email you just sent to the CEO had some content still missing or a message for your family has been sent to co-workers!

Thanks to Gmail you can retract the message within a certain time frame. Gmail announced the Undo Send in 2015 which lets you undo the email you sent within 5, 10. 20 or 30 seconds. It is important to note that the setting is off by default and you have to turn it on.

Here’s how you can use the feature:

  • Log into your Gmail account, click on the gear icon in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.
  • Select Settings and scroll down to the checkbox labeled “Enable Undo Send” and select it.

How to Gmail Unsend

  • Choose a “send cancellation period” of 5, 10, 20 or 30 seconds.
  • Scroll down and click “save changes.”

Gmail has been trying to facilitate users in many ways as it has now started to warn users about any malicious software in the messages after news emerged that a Russian hacker stole 270 million passwords of Gmail, Yahoo, and Microsoft.

Image Source: Mashable

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *