TechWomen 2017 program

The world of tech is mostly dominated by the male, and there is a massive gender gap in this field, especially in the developing countries. Most of the times, the employment opportunities in the tech industry are given to the men, but now, as the world is progressing, the females have also started taking a keen interest in the science.

Keeping in mind the importance of women in the technology sector, the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs started a program called TechWomen. This program provides a chance to the women to take part in the technology-related workshops and enhance their knowledge and skills in the subjects of science, technology, engineering and mathematics. This program was first initiated in 2010, and now, for the first time, it has started accepting the applications from the women in Pakistan.

Also Read, Aspiring women are encouraged to apply for next circle of PITB’s Herself.

If you love technology and want to build a professional career in this field, you can take part in the TechWomen 2017 and get a chance to participate in the mentorships at the leading companies in the US. In this program, events are organised in the US, and the women get the opportunity to visit the Silicon Valley and also participate in the workshops. The last date to apply in the TechWomen 2017 is January 17, 2017.

It is a five-week program, which is available for the women from Africa, Central and South Asia, and the Middle East.  To apply, click here.

To apply, an applicant must

  • Be women with, at least, two years full-time professional experience in the science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.
  • Have, at least a bachelor’s degree/four-year university degree or equivalent
  • Be expert in written and spoken English.
  • Be citizens and permanent residents of Algeria, Cameroon, Egypt, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Morocco, Nigeria, Pakistan, the Palestinian Territories, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan or Zimbabwe.
  • Be eligible to obtain a U.S. J-1 exchange visitor visa.
  • Not have applied for an immigrant visa to the United States, or participated in a visa lottery in the past five years.
  • Not hold U.S. Citizenship or be a U.S. legal permanent resident.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here